Maple’s Garden

In my mind there’s a wonderful garden

I can visit whenever I please;

It holds lots of plants and a river,

And a row of beautiful trees.

The main tree there is a maple;

Its roots grow strong and deep

And each of its branches holds hundreds of leaves

And each is a memory I keep.

Each bud that forms is a person

who means a lot to me

Most opened and grew

then fell to the ground

and were born to our family tree.

There’s one special bud

that stays on the branch

and never unfurlsWedding 015 in the world

Still precious, still loved and still perfect –

A beautiful, beautiful girl.

When I visit that lovely garden

and sit under our family tree

I look at that bud and remember

just what she means to me.

She’s the little girl we longed for

But she wasn’t meant to be;

She stays there in my garden,

Still a bud on our family tree.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Maple’s Garden | elsieshufflebottom

Leave a Reply

