Warning! You’ll be like me one day!

I have a habit of forgetting the names of places…and people, if I’m honest. It means that there are a lot of conversations in our house that start something like this:

“Shall we go to that place?… you know, that shop that’s cheap? …. the place where we looked at those things, you know, those things that hold waste.”

Do you mean dustbins?’

“No, not dustbins, we’ve never looked at dustbins.”

“Well, I know, that’s why I was confused’

“You know what I mean, the thing we put the vegetable peelings in”….

‘Do you mean the plastic box that’s by the sink?’

“No, not that thing. The thing you empty that into”

‘The compost bin?’

“Yes, the compost bin, that’s what I mean!”

“What about it?’

“What about what?”

‘The compost bin”

By that time I’ve got so confused I’ve forgotten what I was saying in the first place. It would be so much easier if I remembered the name of the place I wanted to go to, before making the suggestion.

This is how we ended up in a Garden Centre today that was a completely different one to the one I’d meant. Added to that, I was so engrossed in a phone call that I didn’t realise we were going the wrong way until we were nearly there. The mistake happened because instead of naming the place, I’d said “That garden centre that has a craft shop next to it.”  I meant a shop that sells beautiful crafts. My husband assumed I meant another garden centre, one that has a Hobbycraft shop next door.

We strolled around the first one for an hour, then got back in the car and drove to the other one. We had a wander round, stopped for a coffee, and then went into the craft shop. Our little detour didn’t detract from  the outing at all. In fact, rather the opposite.  I’ve had a really nice afternoon.

Time to cook the dinner now. We’re having that stuff I bought in the Co-op a couple of days ago, you know, it was two packs for £5…we had it when our friends came for dinner last time. usually I cook it in a sauce with mushrooms…. What’s it called? Oh yes… chicken.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tania
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 17:08:14

    Sounds a bit like me!

    Reply

  2. elsieshufflebottom
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 17:28:28

    Well, you are nearly forty! xxx

    Reply

  3. Brenda Vidler
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 20:48:46

    Great to know that I’m not the only one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

